A BLOGGING MILESTONE


DesertPeace enters its sixth year of publishing today. We started out on Blogspot but after one to many times of being denied access by Google, we moved to a much friendlier ‘neighbourhood’.

When I posted my first piece I wasn’t sure if I was talking to myself or if anyone else was ‘listening’. As DesertPeace grew with the addition of wonderful Associates and links, the question I had was answered…. yes, others were listening. To date, with combined visits on both sites, there have been over four million visitors.

The first post was titled ‘Attempts To Create Harmony In Israel/Palestine’. Those attempts have certainly been a success on this Blog. We have brought together Palestinians, living here as well in the Diaspora, Progressive Jews and Israelis, and many others who share the common goal of this site.

Sites that are linked to us are, for the most part, dedicated to the same goals. They are more than just links, they are real people, many of whom I’ve met personally. We have truly become family.

To those that made our attempts a success I want to say Thank You!
Here’s to the next 6 years!!

Below is the very first post that appeared here…..

ATTEMPTS TO CREATE HARMONY IN ISRAEL/PALESTINE

October 19, 2005 at 09:54

I am originally from the United States. I have been living in Jerusalem, Israel for 21 years and have dedicated all of those years to try and create an atmosphere that will lead to a just and permanent peace in this area. Israelis and Palestinians have more in common that the outsider might see… I will attempt on this blog to show those similarities and show why I am so confident that one day we will live in peace together.
I know it can be done!

11 Comments

  1. Maurice said,

    October 19, 2010 at 12:19

    Felicitations!

  2. Deborah said,

    October 19, 2010 at 12:50

    Happy Birthday Desertpeace.

    The last five years have seen so much violence and I hope that the coming years lead to a lasting peace.

    In the meantime thank you for your dedication to providing a wealth of information every day. I do my best to encourage others to come to your blog to see the daily reality of this conflict with the hope that once they see the truth they will join in pressuring governments worldwide so that we might all live to see peace not only in the Middle East but in every corner of our world.

  3. Mirah Riben said,

    October 19, 2010 at 18:17

    Mazel Tov!

  4. richard Guillemette said,

    October 19, 2010 at 19:17

    Bonnes fetes and hopefully your web site will become redundant in my lifetime because justice will have triumphed

  5. October 19, 2010 at 20:06

    [...] A BLOGGING MILESTONE « Desertpeace. October 19th, 2010 | Category: Uncategorized | Comments are closed | [...]

  6. October 20, 2010 at 04:32

    There is a way to have peace.

    http://wwwpeacefulsolution.com

    O.H

  7. October 20, 2010 at 04:33

    Sorry

    that web site is

    http://www.peacefulsolution.com

  8. Korbo said,

    October 20, 2010 at 04:52

    Sincères félicitations et merci pour cet excellente source d’infos!

  9. occupiedpalestine said,

    October 20, 2010 at 05:46

    JazzakAllahu khair and may God bless you for all your efforts!
    Wa salaam from OccupiedPalestine

  10. Danny D said,

    October 20, 2010 at 06:26

    Great job, May you have many more great years and thanks for keeping all us informed on what’s happening. I wish I knew or could understand word press more I would move my pages there, I am not really sure, it’s a lot of pages over 10,000 maybe 11,000 now since summer 1996

  11. Sanela said,

    October 21, 2010 at 02:32

    Happy 6th birthday DesertPeace! :)
    I am so glad I met Bud and Fran. They told me about your blog and it’s among the best I’ve come across. Bettawfeeq! Mazel Tov!

    מאחל לך מזל טוב
    حظا سعيدا

    Wishing you all the best!
    שלום
    السلام
    Sincerely,
    Sanela
    (BX, nyc)


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,119 other followers

