LIFE IS STILL TOO SHORT

Almost two years after this originally appeared, the subject of the post is still here, still mouthing off and definitely still bugging me.
I have mastered the art of blocking him out of my sight and hearing, but surely he knows after all this time that he just doesn’t fit in …. but the message of the post is an important one, hence the repeat.
*
The time has come in my life where I just won’t waste it listening to certain opinions or be with the people that have them… call me closed minded if you wish, but you would be way off base.
*
*
Case in point
*
 * 
I live in a fairly mixed and progressive community in Jerusalem.  Mixed as there are both religious and secular Jews living here as well as hundreds of Palestinians. We have maintained our own level of Peace throughout what have been very turbulent years in the city. 
*
English is the official ‘second language’ in this area which is a big attraction to new immigrants from the States. One such person moved in not too long ago…. one very strange person. He is the type that gets an idea in his head and proceeds to spout it out for the remainder of the week, literally ‘testing the waters’ to see if anyone was in agreement with him. People were tolerant towards him probably out of pity as he was here only with his wife and completely estranged from his children that remained in the States.
 
I was one that offered my ear to his ramblings, hardly ever agreeing with them….. BUT last week he crossed the line. He started spouting off about the violence displayed in baseball and how terrible that was….. but ended his rant with “Israel should learn something from that game, we should have bombed all of the ships in the Flotilla and killed them all”! I was beyond words, shocked would be too mild a word to express my feelings at the moment. I simply responded that “this is the end of this conversation” and walked away from him.
*
Last night he approached me again …. but I cut him off before he started talking by telling him that “whatever friendship we might have had ended last week when you expressed the most outrageous opinion I ever heard”. He was not expecting that from me, but should have as he is aware of my views regarding the situation in general in this country. He silently walked away from me, probably with the hope that I won’t be telling others about his madness.
*
Simply put, it’s bad enough having to witness the crimes against the Palestinians in this country, crimes that I can (and do) speak out against constantly…. but there is no reason in the world why I should have to listen to certain opinions regarding those crimes. Life is way too short to waste it on one ignorant person, there are others with open minds that one day might work together with us to make a real difference.
 *
Hopefully this person will have learned something about ‘resting his gums’ so to speak. Either that or realise that his views are totally unacceptable in certain areas and leave, in which case not a tear would be shed by anyone in the community.

5 Comments

  1. Dennis said,

    May 25, 2013 at 20:30

    Habib, stick to your literary, moral, common sense ‘guns’. The entire thinking world stands with you. Shokran.

  2. tom said,

    May 25, 2013 at 21:14

    explicatives, insults, middle fingers
    there’s the answer

  3. Alfonso said,

    May 25, 2013 at 23:01

    Wonderfully put. Justice first always.

  4. Rojoperro said,

    May 26, 2013 at 01:51

    It is too bad it takes us so long to recognize this.

  5. RoHa said,

    May 26, 2013 at 06:08

    “call me close minded if you wish”

    I would never do that. I might call you closeD minded, but only if you won’t let me sell you a use car.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,163 other followers

