IT’S ALL MY MOTHER’S FAULT


Lately I have been getting allot of comments telling me how brave I am, how special I am for being so outspoken against the Israeli government…. while actually living in Israel. A few posts ago I explained why I am in Israel, it certainly is not to remain silent. I have always spoken out against injustice and will continue to do so until my last dying breath.
But why? What makes me different from most others?
If I am at a restaurant and someone sees the next table occupied by Arabs, I see that very same table occupied by people. If I am on a bus and a Black person gets on, I see a person getting on. I can go on and on with various examples, but the point remains, why do I see something or someone differently than others see it?
I must credit my parents for correct upbringing, it’s as simple as that. I too had my prejudices as a child, based out of ignorance. I was a pupil in an almost all white, all Jewish Public School. There was one Black student in my class…. he had terrible body odour. Most of the students shunned him and had nothing to do with him. One day he was absent and the teacher took the opportunity to explain to us why he smelled the way he did…. her explanation was that Black people were not as evolved or developed as White people and retained something similar to a stench gland identical to the ones found in skunks. It made perfect sense, and we were all taught by our parents to listen to and respect our teachers. When the student in question returned to school, the rest of us were much more understanding towards him and were friendlier, probably out of pity for his circumstances.
That was in 1954, President Eisenhower was in the White House. My mother was an activist in the PTA (Parent Teacher Association). They were involved at the time in organising a lobby to visit the President to urge him to desegregate schools in the south. My mother wanted me to go along…. until I explained to her why schools should remain segregated. She was shocked and wanted to know where I heard such nonsense… when I explained it was part of a lesson in school she became furious… not at me, but at my teacher. The teacher was disciplined as a result of this and the class was given a different lesson… one about washing ones body, keeping it clean, and personal hygiene in general…. it made allot more sense than the original lesson.
If my mother was not such an outspoken person against injustice, perhaps I wouldn’t be one either. It’s all upbringing.
Hatred is learned at home, so is tolerance and compassion.
Oh, by the way….. the PTA had its lobby to Washington and schools were desegregated that very same year. Silence leads to no change…
So, expect me to continue speaking out at everything I see wrong in a very wrong society… I owe that much to my mother.
I also have the thoughts of one of the most brilliant minds in our century to thank for my way of thinking, Albert Einstein. Throughout his long life he was a supporter of progressive causes as can be seen by reading the link provided HERE.
One of the most outstanding acts of his was merely the signing of a letter to the New York Times in December of 1948, condemning what he saw as the emergence of a fascist party in Israel. Bear in mind that just four years later he was asked to stand as President of the new State… an offer that he declined.
So, bottom line is my way of thinking is not necessarily brave or special, it is in line with some of the greatest Jewish minds of our time.

6 Comments

  1. Ben Heine said,

    August 29, 2006 at 22:39

    Hi dear Steve, thanks for your comment on my Blog and for linking me up. I also appreciate you to publish my cartoons… I am grateful.

    I read your last posts with interest. (and the texts : “Why am I in Israel”, “Why I don’t live in Israel”, which I might publish on my Blog in the coming days, as you gave me your autorization). The story about this smelly black guy sounds crazy to me, but it’s a good example of hopeless primary racism. You’re right, racism and segregation always begins at home, with our own brothers and sisters, mother and father. “It’s all upbringing”…

    I knew about the way Einstein refused to become the President of the “new State”. But I think he refused because he thought he didn’t have the political capability… didn’t he?

    Now I understand much better why you follow this critical “line” about your country. I still believe you are brave, because you have the guts to not think like the majority in your country. Thank you for your testimony. Cheers. B.

  2. fleaface said,

    August 30, 2006 at 00:51

    Really enjoyed this post! I totally agree with you, I too see just a person, not color.

    Also I think my mom was the person that influenced me the most when it comes to how to treat people. Like her I want to always be respectful and somedays aren’t as easy as others. That’s where the training from church has to help!

    Good blog desertpeace!
    fleaface 🙂

  3. DesertPeace said,

    August 30, 2006 at 07:12

    Ben… thank you so much for your kind comments. It’s so refrehing to find someone else of ‘like mind’ on the blogesphere.
    As far as Einstein goes, he declinned the presidency because he thought ‘that he lacked the necessary people skills.
    I look forward to a long period of cooperation between us Ben… your cartoons are just great! Indicates that you are too!

  4. DesertPeace said,

    August 30, 2006 at 07:13

    Always good to see you here Fleaface… thanks too for the kind comments.
    Be well my dear friend.

  5. thecutter said,

    September 1, 2006 at 19:57

    Well, Steve, it is not all about Mum bringing baby up the right way! I hear this sort of thing all the time, and especially in a few self declared Liberal Isaeli blogs. Umka actually wrote a very good post about how a certain blogger went on and on about how mum said it was not good to act in a certain way, (stealing a candy from a store) but on the other hand, Umka pointed out that this ethical behaviour about taking what is not hers did not apply to moving to Israel while accepting that Palestinians had to just “deal with history” that “Israelis are here to stay” and “why can’t they see there are 22 other Arab states to move to”.

    Then, a certain Treppenwitz went on and on about how he was such a noble soul. When I challenged him, I got the most violent vitriolic hateful notes in my mailbox. (“If a bulldozer ran over you, it would definitely be one less wasted life and it would be a benefit to mankind” and so on and so forth). These are people who consider themselves ethical, liberal and brought up the right way.

    No, you are not just doing the right thing by having stuck to the values taught to you. You are one of the very few people who is saying what you do from where you are. You are one in a million. I think it’s only right you should know it.

  6. DesertPeace said,

    September 1, 2006 at 20:22

    Thanks for that wonderful ‘vote of confidence’ Cutter.